Awards and Fellowships

Supporting scholarship and scientific research in Canada’s North

Weston Family Awards in Northern Research

The Weston Family Awards in Northern Research were launched in 2007 to support early-career researchers focusing on science in the North. Since that time, nearly 300 scientists have been funded at the graduate and postdoctoral level.

Through a competitive process, awards are presented to outstanding students and scientists in northern research. The awards are administered by Scholarship Partners Canada (SPC), a part of Universities Canada. The master’s, doctoral and postdoctoral award winners are announced in June each year.

Congratulations to this year’s winners:


Jérémie Boucher‐Fontaine, Université Laval

Madeleine‐Zoé Corbeil‐Robitaille, Université du Québec à Rimouski

Geneviève Degré‐Timmons, Université Laval

Celeste Kieran, Simon Fraser University

Alexandra Langwieder, McGill University

Erika Nissen, University of Windsor

Jessica Norris, McGill University

Stephen Paterson, Saint Mary’s University

Leah Pengelly, University of Manitoba

Tommy Pontbriand, University of Manitoba

Samuel Richard, Carleton University

Jaedyn Smith, University of Alberta

Hannah Thibault, University of Waterloo

Carissa Wasyliw, Memorial University of Newfoundland


Julia Baak, McGill University

Kayla Buhler, University of Saskatchewan

Émilie Desjardins, Université du Québec à Rimouski

Erika Hille, Queen’s University

Krystal Isbister, University of Alberta

Adam Kirkwood, Laurentian University

Camille Lavoie, Université Laval

Don‐Jean Léandri‐Breton, McGill University

Laura Neary, University of Waterloo

Enooyaq Sudlovenick, University of Manitoba


Marianne Falardeau‐Côté, Université Laval

Melanie‐Louise Leblanc, The University of British Columbia

Chantel Michelson, Acadia University

To learn about the current and past award winners, please visit Weston Family Awards.

Weston Family Prize for Lifetime Achievement in Northern Research

This prestigious $100,000 Weston Family Prize recognized significant contributions that have helped to shape our thinking and understanding of the North. Prize winners Dr. Wayne Pollard (2019), Dr. Derek Muir (2018), Dr. Michel Allard (2017), Dr. John England (2016), Dr. Ian Stirling (2015), Dr. Charles Krebs (2014), Dr. John Smol (2013), Dr. Louis Fortier (2012), and Dr. Serge Payette (2011) have all made lasting contributions while cultivating the next generation of northern scientists. This annual award culminated in 2019.